San Diego trip.. lots of good food!

Last November I went to San Diego, CA for a week to attend the Society for Neuroscience conference. I was so excited to be in a place where the temperature ranges from 55-60 degrees, instead of a miserable 30’s in St. Louis. I attended the seminar of course, but I must admit that in between, my coworker and I would do some short trips at La Jolla to see the beach and to enjoy the sun. Since my family lives there, they took us to different restaurants and hot spots in the area. Among the ten or so restaurants that I tried,  these places are my top two choices…

 

Royal Thai Cuisine

Located at the Gaslamp area, this Thai restaurant has a variety of choices. We ordered these dishes and they cooked and seasoned them perfectly.

Drunken Noodles… a combination of chicken, pork, shrimp and squid with vegetables and chili. Caution: this is not for people who cannot handle spicy food.

 

 

 

Crying tiger…that prime-cut, charcoal broiled ultra spicy beef just melts in your mouth…

 

 

 

 

 

Extraordinary Desserts

Located in Downtown San Diego area, this cute little coffee/dessert shop has all kinds of cakes, desserts and a variety of coffee flavors to choose from. The desserts are delicious and they are so pretty and elegantly prepared too. I guarantee that you will not regret visiting this place. You have to be there early though, because it is so popular that when we got there at 8:30pm on a Friday night, the line was so long and we had to wait for about 20 minutes or so… But it is still worth it, and I will surely come back!

Leave a Reply

