Potato Pancake with a twist

I hate wasting food. And for me, trying to come up with something good that will utilize any leftovers is always challenging. When I made the asian egg rolls, I had leftover filling. I froze it but I did not know what to do with it. I did not have enough to make another batch of egg rolls, but I did not want to just leave it forgotten. One Saturday morning, I was thinking of what to make for breakfast. I did not feel like having the usual sunny side up, bacon and toast. I wanted something different. I surveyed my pantry, and I suddenly had an idea to make a potato pancake! But this time, instead of an old-fashioned potato pancake, I decided to also add the leftover filling from my asian egg rolls. This was the first time that I have done this, so I did not know what to expect. And it was good. What’s better is, it is a balanced breakfast (potatoes for carbohydrates and the meat for protein). Of course if you don’t have any filling, the good ol’ fashioned potato pancake tastes good as well. To make it even tastier, I used an olive oil/butter combination for frying. This pancake sure made my morning brighter!

Potato Pancake

modified from cooks.com

4 or 5 potatoes, peeled
1 extra-large egg
salt and pepper, to taste
flour, to thicken
1 medium-sized onion, chopped
butter, for frying
olive oil, for frying
leftover Asian egg rolls filling*
* only when there’s leftover filling. This may be omitted.
  1. Peel 4 or 5 potatoes, cut up and put in blender and grate. Or to do things the old-fashioned way, grate with a hand grater. I used the blender to grate it, to save time.
  2. Add 1 egg, salt and pepper to taste and enough flour to thicken to a good pancake batter consistency. Add chopped onion and/or a dash of onion powder, if desired.
  3. * Add the leftover filling to the potato pancake butter. *
  4. Heat 1 tbsp of butter and 1 tbsp of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Cook potato pancake until light brown, turning over once. Remove to drain on paper towels.
  5. Top with butter, applesauce or sour cream.
Leave a Reply

