Bacon, Onion and Cheese Stuffed Burger

I must admit that I’m terrified of grilling. Aside from my weird fear of gas tank (we have a gas grill) exploding on me, I’m more terrified that I will screw it up, like overcook the meat. So when I came home the other night and decided that I wanted to try this cool-sounding burger recipe, I was nervous. Besides, my taster (my boyfriend) is so choosy about how his burgers are done. It has to be medium-rare, with juices still oozing out of the big chunk of burger patty.  Although I was not sure if I can pull this one off, I accepted the challenge. Hey, there’s a first time for everything right? And I was also thinking, if I screw this up, then I will just give the grilling crown back to my guy and I will completely step away from the grill. After all, this is his forte.

The outcome was fantastic and different! Instead of the usual piling everything on top, stuffing the bacon, onion and cheese inside the burger made the patties tastier. And I was so surprised with how easy the recipe is. Just make sure to seal the patties together properly so it won’t pop open once it’s grilling. The cheese will sometimes ooze out of the patties, but don’t fret, because it’s even more appealing and appetizing that way. As a side, we seasoned the sweet corn with salt, pepper, and a tsp of butter, wrapped it in aluminum foil and grilled it for 15-20 min over medium-high heat. Overall, I really had fun with my first grilling experience. The grilling crown still belongs to my guy, but I’m happy to know that I made one Burger recipe that impressed my grill king.

Bacon, Onion and Cheese Stuffed Burger

adapted from Sunny Anderson’s Cooking for Real

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 strips bacon, diced 1/2 onion, chopped 1 cup grated sharp Cheddar
  • 4 burger buns lettuce, tomato, pickles for garnish

  1. Pre-heat grill to medium-high.
  2. In a bowl combine beef, garlic, hot sauce, salt and pepper, to taste, being careful not to over mix.
  3. Warm a skillet over medium heat and fry bacon until crispy. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate to drain.
  4.  Keep heat on skillet and fry a pinch of the beef in the bacon fat to test seasoning. Adjust seasoning, if needed, then form 8 even thin patties, about 1/2-inch thick and set aside.
  5.  Saute onions in bacon fat in skillet until tender, about 5 minutes. Place onions and bacon in a bowl and allow to cool, then add cheese [you want the bacon and onion to reach almost room temperature so the cheese won’t melt when added to the mixture].
  6.  Form a spoonful of bacon- cheese mixture into a ball, then place in the center of 4 patties. Top each with another patty and seal the edges.
  7.  Grill burgers over medium-high heat, flipping once until desired doneness is reached, approximately 4 minutes each side for medium. Serve in buns with garnishes.
  8. Alternative: In a medium skillet over medium-high heat, sear the burgers 4 minutes on each side.
One response

Leave a Reply

