Key Lime Cheesecake

Ahhh cheesecake… This is my most favorite dessert. And among all the cheesecake flavors, Key Lime is my choice. So when I decided to try baking, it was no shock that I tried to make Key Lime Cheesecake first. Suffice to say, this is a very special challenge for me. After all, this is my first real baking experience. I am not a baker so I was quite unsure and skeptical on how this would turn out. My friend told me that I should just follow the exact measurement and it will turn out good. The downside of this recipe is, you have to chill the cheesecake for at least 24h to 2 days to make the filling really firm. So imagine how tormenting it was to open my fridge and see the cheesecake staring at me as if to say “ha! you can’t take a bite yet!”  Well, that day arrived, and my five taste testers really liked it. The tartness of the key lime brought the refreshing flavor combined with the creamy filling. This is one perfect dessert to make for summer. One advice, warm the knife first (I dipped mine in warm water) before using it to cut the cheesecake.

I must say I enjoyed my first baking experience. And because of this, I have baking recipes lined up already that I wanted to try. I just hope my tasters won’t get tired trying out new stuff that comes out of my kitchen.

Key Lime Cheesecake

adapted from allrecipes.com

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 6 tbsp butter, melted
  • 24 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp grated lime zest
  • 2/3 cup key lime juice
    1. Combine cookie or graham cracker crumbs with butter or margarine. Press into bottom and partially up sides of 9 inch springform pan. Refrigerate.
    2. In a large bowl, beat with an electric mixer the cream cheese, sugar, lime peel, and cornstarch until smooth and fluffy. [One way to soften the cream cheese is to leave it at room temperature overnight]  Beat in eggs one at a time, blending just until smooth. Add key lime juice with mixer on low. Finish mixing by hand. Do not overbeat, or cake will crack during baking. Pour batter into prepared crust.
    3. Bake at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for 55 to 65 minutes, or until set. To minimize cracking, place a shallow pan half full of hot water on lower rack during baking.
    4. Turn oven off, and let cheesecake stand in oven 30 minutes with the door open at least 4 inches. Remove from oven. Refrigerate cake overnight, and up to three days.
Leave a Reply

